Mauritius Gallery

Mauritius Accommodation

Mauritius English Home

move to Mauritius for 1 year

for our english speaking user.

move to Mauritius for 1 year

Beitragvon MG » Di Jul 08, 2008 19:21

Hi there,

My name is Marcel i'm 20 yrs old and I'm planning on moving to Mauritius for approx 1 year.

I don't know what the situation is if i am allowed to stay in Mauritius for up to 1 year as a self employed. I'm a professional online poker player. I make USD 5,000/month more or less, depending on the number of hours i invest.

I'm interested in renting an apartment near the beach (Pereybere, maybe)
It needs to have broadband and air conditioning. Do they even have broadband in apartments next to the beach?

I'm willing to pay around $800/month for the apartment. Is that enough?

And how expensive are Taxis in Mauritius? As that will probably my main source of transport.

Thanks in advance.

- Marcel

MG
encor Basic
encor Basic

Info Mauritius Annonce

Beitragvon kantor » Mi Jul 09, 2008 13:12

It should be difficult to qualify for the self-employment scheme as an online poker player. You could enter the country as a tourist (max. 6 months, return ticket needed, but this can be rebooked). You can see later what options you have.

800 $/month will be more than enough for an apartment. ADSL internet is available from Orange Mauritius:
http://www.orange.mu/internet/adsl.php

Taxis aren't expensive, for example from Pereybere to Port Louis it should be around 500-600 Rs.
kantor
content partagé
content partagé

Beitragvon MG » Mi Jul 09, 2008 13:40

Hi,

thanks for the reply.

Is it really difficult to qualify as self-employed as a poker player in Mauritius?

Because of what i know, playing poker for a living in the USA and Europe is seen as being self-employed. I don't know what other word would be used in Mauritius if you're making a stable income off Poker.

edit: Oh i got one more question.